Disable Fast User Switching in Windows XP

When multiple users share a computer, logging off and logging on to the computer in order to switch users can become tiresome. Fast User Switching, a feature of Windows XP Home Edition and Windows XP Professional when it is not joined to a domain, makes it possible for you to quickly switch between users without actually logging off from the computer.Multiple users can share a computer and use it simultaneously, switching back and forth without closing the programs they are running. For example, suppose you are working on the household budget and you have to leave the computer for a short time. Your child expresses a desire to play a game while you are away. With Fast User Switching, you can leave your financial program running and let your child log on to play the game. When you log back on, you return to the budget without losing your place. (via Microsoft)

However, if you’re the only one who uses your computer, it’s just another service that starts at bootup and uses resources. And it’s easy to turn it off so that it will preserve important computer resources.When Fast User Switching is not turned on, programs shut down when you log off, and the computer runs faster for the next user who logs on.

    • Left Click Start | Programs | Administrative Tools
    • Left Click Services
    • Services console, scroll down to Fast User Switching and double click .
    • Change the startup type to Disable
    • If the service is running, left click the Stop button
    • Left Click OK.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You are here

  • Home
  • Uncategorized
  • Disable Fast User Switching in Windows XP